Reading Wrap Up | April 2016

Aah, it’s nearly May. It’s nearly the fifth month of the year. This year is going way, way too fast.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Technically I finished this book in the month of March, but I was on holiday so, you know, I was…chilling. I am so glad that I am slowly continuing this series because this reminded me why I love Cassandra Clare books. The writing style is so engaging and fun, and all of her books are crammed with wit and humour. I really need to get on with this series as I now own all the books, and have only read two…Yeah…

3229373

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I picked this book up on holiday, having heard everyone and their mother raving about it, but not expecting to love it because I really don’t read much of this genre. But, I ended up loving it. The writing style is really funny and lovely, to family dynamics are super interesting, the characters are fabulous and our main character Lou is one of my favourite protagonists that I’ve ever read.

12649718

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Everyone and their mother and their dog has read this book and this is just one of those books that you just have to read in your lifetime. It’s a classic classic. And while it may have taken me quite a while to get through this book – classics generally always take slightly longer with me – I am very glad that I read it. I really enjoyed all of the characters and some of the witty one-liners that popped up. And while my reading experience was lowered slightly because I already knew the large majority of the plot considering this book is a part of our culture, I still found it a very enjoyable read.

18300267

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

This is a contemporary that I have heard a load of people rave on about, so when I saw it in my local bookshop I decided to pick it up. I really enjoyed Huntley Fitzpatrick’s writing style, and I just really enjoyed this book on the whole. I liked the characters, even though the main character Samantha annoyed me at times, and there is a heck of a lot of character development that goes down in this book which everything that bit more interesting. There are also a lot of subjects within this book that aren’t usually discussed in YA books, at least in my opinion, so that was very refreshing to read too.

16101144

Leave a comment