How To Get Away With Murder | First Thoughts

This will contain spoilers for the first episode of How To Get Away With Murder.

How to Get Away with Murder season 2 release date

Well, my first thought was oh my goodness, it’s Dean Thomas! And my second thought was…well…I can’t remember because I was so engaged in what was happening and I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat.

How To Get Away With Murder is a new legal drama which aired on ABC on the 25th September 2014. Also, you can watch this on the 22nd of October if you live in the UK. Or watch it on American sites on the internet. Based at a Philadelphian Law School, it follows a group of ambitious wannabe law students as they go about trying to make their dreams happen and meet the people who could make their dreams a reality. And that’s pretty much you’ll ever know for sure about this show.

Within the first few minutes it was obvious that this show was going to be gripping. I mean, it starts with a flashback showing a group of teenagers dispose of a body. It set the bar pretty high. After that, the show was filled with tense study sessions, gay flirting and hiding in toilets. And Dean Thomas. I can’t actually get that thought out of mind. This show should be titled: ‘When Dean Thomas Goes to Law College.’

Every single character in this show is messed up in some way. Either they are a flirting jackass who would make out with a cushion or a professional lawyer who is in love with her bosses husband. It’s all go. I really liked the character of Wes, played by Dean Thomas (or Alfred Enoch). He was nerdy and studious but with a little bit of heart that I think is definitely going to stand him in good stead for the rest of the series. Or not, because we know that he kills someone. There are a series of flashbacks showing the main characters disposing of a body, so we know that this show is mainly going to revolve around their murder and – going by the title – how they get away with it.

Annalise Keating (Viola Davis) was a awesome character: she was strong and powerful and kickass and didn’t care what anyone else thought. Especially because she’s cheating on her husband. Connor Walsh (Jack Falahee) was your typical good-looking flirt-monster but deep down I think he does have a good heart. Michaela Pratt (Aja Naomi King) is spunky and resourceful but still vulnerable and I’m excited to uncover more of this side to he. Laurel Castillo (Karla Souza) is clever and hard working but I’m sure that there is a braver, stronger side to her that I really want her to uncover. Asher Millstone (Matt McGory) was your typical jock but I think that he is going to grow into a really interesting character and a key part of the plot.

In essence, I loved this first episode. It was spunky and engaging and kept me on my toes throughout the entire thing. The mystery surrounding every character at the end of the episode was insane and I just want to watch the next one to discover more about the characters and the plot. I really loved the murder aspect too and how you have to keep guessing everyone’s identity and motives. No one is reliable – no one is trustworthy. If you have a spare moment in the next couple of days I urge you to go and watch this – I promise it will have you hooked.

4 thoughts on “How To Get Away With Murder | First Thoughts

Leave a Reply

