To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Review

21028311

I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about Jenny Han so when I saw one of her books in my local bookstore I just had to pick it up. I’m on a real contemporary kick at the moment and I really, really enjoyed this. The writing was entertaining and interesting and I thought that the plot was really creative and slightly ingenious. All of the characters were fully developed and all of them were individual and unique, and all of them were relatable and realistic. I think that Jenny Han is a awesome writer who doesn’t get enough credit in the literary world as it is at the moment. This book is the perfect summer read – it’s cute and fluffy but carries deeper messages to do with friends, family, life and picking yourself up after a hard time.

This is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Firstly, I want to break all the pre-conceived ideas that you probably have about this book. Yes it’s cute and slightly clichéd but I loved it. It has a original story line and amazing characters and a really sweet romance. It’s not your typical romance story that some of you might be thinking about. There’s no wicked step-mother or poisoned apples in this, and I think this book would appeal to a range of people – not just those who love a good romance. Jenny Han is a master at building characters. I especially loved the main character Lara-Jean. She was determined and passionate but she was also very realistic and girly. I also loved her sisters: Kitty was adorable and hilarious and Margot was mature and organised, although she did annoy me slightly at times. I really liked the character of Peter, and even if he was your slightly stereotypical jock, I really loved his personality. I also liked Josh even if he didn’t really handle situations to the best of his ability. But I think that all of the characters were really unique and relatable.

The plot was really engaging and there were twists and turns in every chapter. I loved the writing style which reminded me a little Stephanie Perkins – which was a bonus point. I loved how relatable Lara-Jean was as a character. The dialogue was hilarious and I loved the relationship that Lara-Jean had with her father and sisters. Their relationship felt real. Peter was awesome and his and Lara-Jean’s relationship was interesting and engaging. My only regret would be that I wish we got more of them and it didn’t end so abruptly.

Overall, I loved this book. I’d give it a 5 out of 5 and I’m super excited about reading more of Jenny Han’s books.

4 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Review

Leave a Reply

