My True Love Gave To Me: Midnights by Rainbow Rowell | Review

22914373

This book is a book that I’ve been lusting after for literally years; contemporary festive-themed stories are right up my alley! And considering there are twelve different short stories by twelve different authors, I didn’t think it was far to squish all of the epic-ness into one review. So I’m going to be a short review for all of the different short stories and first up, it’s Rainbow Rowell.

This story, like all of Rainbow Rowell’s books, was charming and adorable. I really liked the characters and I think they had some really interesting character traits and didn’t follow the classic, cliché character tropes. I think that if this story was developed into a longer story, then it would be a really interesting story with all the unique characters.

This story follows Mags and Noel who are best friends and who every year without fail attend their friend Alicia’s New Years Eve Party. And ever year, Mags has to watch Noel kissing another girl when the countdown ends. And one year, Mags can’t take it. She loves him. She’s always loved him. And despite their friendship still holding strong, Mags is still yearning for him.

I think that this story was really cute and interesting. I really liked the character of Noel, with his kooky allergic reactions and his wine coloured trousers. I think that Mags could have been developed a little more, but I think that she was a very realistic and interesting character. The rest of the characters I didn’t really connect with, but I’m sure that was just because of the short length of the book. I’ve never really been a fan of short stories but I’m sure that this collection of short stories will sway me into loving them.

Overall, I really liked this book and if the rest of the stories are this quality then I am going to love this book. For this story, I’d give it a 4 out of 5 stars and I would definitely recommend this book at this time of year and if you want putting in the festive mood, then pick this up.

Leave a Reply

