Mid-June Favourites

Another month has passed and I can’t believe that it’s pretty much half way through the year already. Summer is basically upon us! And whilst I’m counting down the days until school is over for the holidays, here are my mid-June favourites!

Film:
Pitch Perfect 2 (2015)
Director: Elizabeth Banks

It’s happened guys. I’m obsessed with this film. Everything about it appeals to me and even though it’s not quite as good as the first film, I still loved it. The characters were funny and engaging, the plot was fast-paced and engaging and obviously, the music was amazing and addicting. I feel so attached to all the characters and the world of this film, and this duology has quickly become some of my favourite films of all time. I don’t play the soundtrack on repeat – just a select couple of songs that are now my life soundtrack. Watch out for my review coming out later this week 🙂

Song:
King of Anything (2010)
Artist: Sara Bareilles

I’ve basically been listening to nothing but Glee songs all month, but when I’ve not been listening to Glee I’ve been listening to this. I really like Sara Bareilles, and I think her voice is really easy to listen to. This song is super catchy and addicting and I have been playing it on repeat when I decide that I need a Glee break. If you want to go and give it a listen, here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eR7-AUmiNcAhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eR7-AUmiNcA

Book:
Vampire Academy
Author: Richelle Mead

I have been meaning to read this book for what seems like years and I finally have and I absolutely 200,000,000% ADORED it. I loved the characters and the world and the plot and inhaled this book as though it was air (that sentence could have gone a completely different way). I don’t why it had taken me so long to read this book, and I already have the next four books in the series for when I need another Vampire Academy fix.

TV Show:
American Horror Story (2011)
Director: Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk

This was a very close tie with Agents of SHIELD but I decided to go with American Horror Story. I don’t whether it’s a coincidence that the same people who directed Glee (and I am OBSESSED with Glee) directed this, and I am equally as obsessed with this. I don’t usually like horror, but the story and the characters and the atmosphere has just utterly sucked me in. I have so many un-answered questions and thoughts and feelings about this show, and I have just fallen in love. I adore all of the characters, and I just need to know all of the answers! It’s chilling and unpredictable and gritty and it is now one of my favourite shows ever (Moira is my spirit animal)

Album:
Ceremonials (2011)
Artist: Florence and the Machine

I’ve always liked Florence and the Machine but this album has just been playing on repeat for the last couple of weeks. Every single song is fab and I can sing and dance along to everything. Every song is really catchy and interesting and I hear something different in the album every single time I listen. I’ve discovered a ton of new songs that I didn’t know Florence had sung or performed and now I am addicted. If you want some easy-listening and some great music, definitely go and check this album out.

Leave a Reply

