Pitch Perfect 2 | Movie Review

Contains very mild spoilers for Pitch Perfect 2

2015
Directed: Elizabeth Banks
Screenplay: Kay Cannon
Music: Mark Mothersbaugh

I really loved Pitch Perfect – I loved the characters and the performances and the storyline. And I was super excited to see what Pitch Perfect 2 had in store. I knew that this would be very different compared to Pitch Perfect – as sequels often are – but I couldn’t wait to see what direction this film would take. And although I don’t think it’s as good as Pitch Perfect, it did a fab job of coming up with something that was enjoyable and entertaining and that was also a great continuation from the first one. The characters were just as we remembered them: lovable and full of humour and sass. This film really was a feast for the eyes with a load of light effects and sequins. I loved that a few familiar faces made another appearance (mainly Aubrey) and overall, this was a really fun and entertaining movie. I would have a liked a little more romance from Jesse and Becca (as that’s one of things that I loved about the first film) but with the added bonus of a dash of romance from Benji and newbie Emily, I didn’t totally miss it. A brilliant continuation of the story and I think if you liked anything about the first film, then you’ve probably already seen this.

In this film we re-join the Bellas three years after we last saw them, with a stash of trophies and wins under the belt. However, after being humiliated in front of none other than the President of the United States of America, the Bellas are taken out of the Aca-Circuit. In order to clear their name and regain their status, the Bellas take on a seemingly impossible task: winning an International competition that no American team has ever won. In order to accomplish this monumental task, they need to strengthen the bonds of friendship and sisterhood, and blow away the competition with their amazing aca-power. With all new friends and old rivals tagging along for the trip, the Bellas can hopefully accomplish their dreams once again.

All the girls were exactly the same since we’d left them: Becca was still her cool and confident self, Fat Amy was still hilarious and brutally honest, Stacie still looked amazing in everything (with tie-dye hair) and basically, I love everyone. Newbie Emily was a really refreshing new face as she wasn’t totally self-assured and confident like the rest of the girls. I thought Hailee Steinfeld did a really good job of playing Emily, and her singing is surprisingly good. Other newcomer Flo was also a great addition and now one of my characters. All her comments about being a foreigner were actually were realistic and very current issues, and she also really made the Bellas take their situation into perspective. I also liked Gail and Tony again – being their rude and still amusing selves. Their comments also showed some of the opinions that we might have about other countries and nationalities that we might not like to admit. The Acapella World Champions is basically Eurovision. How I see Eurovision is that the winning act basically needs to be sort of good and to be from a country that no body hates. And that theory was pretty much proved with this.

I think that the plot of this film was really creative. It took a quite simple plot: the group get knocked down and they have to climb up again to defeat all the odds. But, they added some different elements – like the boot-camp from Aubrey – which really put a different twist on the plot and made it engaging and entertaining to watch. I thought this film lost a little of the humour that the first film had and this film felt a lot more rehearsed and thought-through whereas the first film felt much more organic and spontaneous, and I actually prefer that off-the-cuff vibe that the first film gave. I also feel that this film had a much faster pacing than the first one and there were very few moments where the characters just sat and talked about what was actually happening in the film. Again, the soundtrack is amazing. I can listen to it on repeat and I think it is really well produced and put together. I really liked how Benji got a bigger part in this film – because he is adorable – and I loved his relationship with Emily. I wish we could just have a film about the relationships between the characters because a triple date with Jesse and Becca, Benji and Emily and Bumper and Fat Amy would actually be aca-amazing (see what I did there?)

Overall, I think that this was a great follow-up film but the hype sort of killed it. I know it wasn’t as good as the first film but I think that because there was so much hype, forcing this film to be out of this world, that everyone was expecting too much from this film. But anyway, this film was great. Just watch it.

Leave a Reply

