Mid-August Favourites

Summer is beginning to come to a close and now the mad panic sets in before another year of school or college or work sets in. Frazzled trips out the shops are bound to come and you start wondering: how many pens are really too many pens? Anyway, I have a new bunch of favourites to share with you and these are just some of the things that I’ve been loving over the last month.

Film:
Inside Out (2015)
Director: Pete Docter

When I watched this film (and reviewed it:https://abicxx.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/inside-out-movie-review/) I didn’t quite realise just how much I actually adored it. I haven’t really watched many films lately – it’s been all about the TV – but I can’t stop thinking about this. I love the message that this film gives off to kids – it’s okay to be sad sometimes – and I really don’t think this subject has ever been breached in a film before. This film is also gorgeous to look at and is hilarious and I really think it’s a great family-friendly summer film, so if you haven’t watched it, I’d recommend it.

Song:
Good For You (2015) and Poker Face (2010)
Artist: Selena Gomez and Lea Michelle and Idina Menzel

This month I have two favourite songs and they are both very different. The first isn’t something I would normally listen to, but I have been loving Selena Gomez lately and I think her new stuff is sounding really exciting, and I can’t wait for her new album. I might not like what this song stands for and what it’s saying but I love the actual song – I think it’s really cool and relaxing and insanely catchy. If you haven’t heard it, please do: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TsVjvEkc4s My second favourite is the cover of Lady Gaga’s Poker Face that Glee did. You all know I’m obsessed with Glee, but lately I have been playing this song on repeat all day every day. I think Lea and Idina sound fabulous together and I really love them together. If you haven’t heard this, then I really suggest that you do: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUhA0oXnpq4

Book:
City of Bones (2007)
Author: Cassandra Clare

This is a book that every one and their mother has read – yet I hadn’t. Until now. And obviously it was fab, or it wouldn’t be in my favourites. I adore every single one of the characters because they are all so witty and lovable and complex. The world is fascinating and super detailed and this book had plot twists around every single corner, and betrayals that I never saw coming. I can’t wait to see where this series is going to go from here, and if you want to know more of my thoughts then check out my review which will be appearing in the next week.

TV Series:
Ripper Street (2012) and Pretty Little Liars (2010)
Director: See them all here: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2183641/fullcredits?ref_=tt_cl_sm#cast and http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1578873/fullcredits/

I have been having a full-blown obsession with these two shows over the last month. I have been counting down the days until Ripper Street returned and I am 100% obsessed. It might be my favourite show of all time. It’s gritty and intense and dramatic yet funny too and is filled with amazing characters and great plots and I really, really, really adore it. Yet I am also addicted to Pretty Little Liars, I’m currently half way through season four and I’m loving every second. I can fly through five episodes in a day and I think I have a problem. This show has come so far since the first season and if you are wondering whether to start this show, I say yes. The first couple of episodes might not be the strongest, but wait until episode six and you’ll be hooked.

Ripper Street (2012) Poster

Album:
For You (2014)
Artist: Selena Gomez

Whilst I wait for Selena’s new album, Revival, I have been listening to this one repeat. I’ve never been a massive Selena Gomez fan, but I think I’ve just been hooked. I’ve listened to this album loads and I think it’ the perfect mix between relaxing and up-beat. If you’ve always dismissed Selena Gomez – like I have – I really think you should give her and her music a shot, because I can’t wait for her new album and I think she has a really cool, mature and relaxing vibe.

Those were my mid-August favourites! I hope you enjoyed them 🙂

Let me know in the comments: what album of 2015 so far has been your favourite? What soon-to-be released album are you looking forward to most?

2 thoughts on “Mid-August Favourites

  1. I’m just about to watch Inside Out! I’m so glad you like it!!! I’m so excited to watch ❤ Also, you love Selena (good for you is such an awesome song soo lss material lol and TMI?! I think I found another soulmate in WordPress!!!! ❤ Are you excited for the tv show?! I love the casting for Alec (Matthew Daddario) such a hottie! I hope you read The Infernal Devices! I loved TMI but TID is my absolute fav! I saw that you watch Agent Carter. Do you watch The Flash and Arrow? 🙂 Your blog is really pretty, Abi! Love it ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

