The Maze Runner | Movie Review

2014
Director: Wes Ball
Screenplay: James Dashner, Noah Oppenheim, Grant Pierce Myers and T.S. Nowlin
Music: John Paesano

I read the Maze Runner by James Dasher about two years ago and I thought it was pretty meh. I also decided not to continue on with the books if that gives you some more indication. But I’d heard from a lot of people who hadn’t read the books that the film was actually pretty good, so I decided to give it a shot. And, I’m still feeling meh. I just don’t think this series and world is for me, but I can see how some people would enjoy it. I did find it to be a very loyal adaptation of the book, so fans of the trilogy would probably enjoy this thoroughly. I really liked the world within the Glade, and I also really liked the way that the group worked and the relationship and dynamic between them. Although some of the characters really did annoy and there wasn’t enough humour for my taste, this film was action-packed and fast-paced and there were a lot of twists and turns throughout. I also thought that the casting choices were fab, and the settings were beautiful.

Thomas – played by Dylan O’Brien – wakes up in an elevator, remembering nothing but his own name. He emerges into a world of about 60 teen boys who have learned to survive in a completely enclosed environment, subsisting on their own agriculture and supplies. A new boy arrives every 30 days. The original group has been in “The Glade” for three years, trying to find a way to escape through the Maze that surrounds their living space. They have begun to give up hope. Then a comatose girl arrives with a strange note, and their world begins to change forever.

One of the biggest downfalls in the books were the characters, at least for me. I really didn’t like Thomas or Theresa and considering these two are main characters, I found them really boring and dull. This translated into the film too, and it sort of just made my dislike for them increase. I did however like how Newt, Gally, Minho and Alby were portrayed and I loved the casting choices for these characters. These four were the most interesting, intriguing and well-developed characters of the bunch and are definitely my favourites. Another thing that I have a probably with – and this might just be me – is the significant lack of female characters. And, the only female character is bland and boring. I really think that if some more females were added, the group dynamic would change, there could be more banter and humour between the characters and overall make a more easy-to-watch film.

For me at least, this film was very boring. I don’t know whether that was just because I knew what was coming because I’d read the book, this film just isn’t for me, or the plot had serious problems. When the action scenes did happen, they were quite exciting and tense but when the group wasn’t being attacked, I found myself to lose interest very quickly and soon I didn’t care what happened to group at all. There was very limited humour in this too, which I would have liked to break up the monotony. I also think that some of the actors – and their roles – were almost wasted on this film, and I know that that is a very bold thing to say. I could tell that Dylan O’Brien and Thomas Brodie-Sangster are great actors, and I know that Will Poulter is and I could see that they were trying their hardest to make their characters come alive. And for Will and Thomas it worked, but I find Thomas such a boring character that I often felt like he was getting no where.

If you like action and fast-paced films then I think that this would be a great shout for you. But if, like me, you want more detail on the characters and some humour and maybe some romance, then this might not be for you.

Leave a Reply

