The Steel Flea by Nikolay Leskov | Little Black Classic Mini Review

24874306

I’ve decided that whenever I do a review of one of these Little Black Classics, it’s going to be a mini review – because there are only 50 pages and there is only so much that I can say about it. It’s safe to say that my expectations going into this book were pretty non-existent. I had no idea what this book was going to be like, and to be fair, the only reasons I picked it up because it is super short and it has been sitting on my shelves forever. And, I was actually pretty surprised by this book.

The writing style was very, very different to what I was expecting, mainly because this book was written in 1881 in Russia. But the writing was actually very easy to understand and to follow and was written in a very conversational tone, and the scenes moved forwards very quickly. There were no long pages of droning description about trees or man’s guilt – everything was really fast-paced and the amount of the story that was crammed into this little book was very impressive. I didn’t connect with the story or the characters at all, but I’m pretty sure that if I re-read this book again in a few years, it will have a totally new and different meaning to me – and I’m sure I’ll get more of the comical aspects of this book.

I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars, for the way that it totally surprised me in terms of the writing style and the way that the writing really pushed the story along and kept the action moving.

Leave a Reply

