Captain America: Civil War | Movie Review

Release date: April 29, 2016 (United Kingdom)
Directors: Joe Russo, Anthony Russo
Adapted from: Civil War
Box office: 366.5 million USD
Producer: Kevin Feige

I am a huge Marvel fanatic and I have been anticipating this film for what feels like years. Captain America is definitely one of my favourite superheroes and I couldn’t wait to see the mix of hilarious humour and heart-splitting emotions that I knew would come in this film. And it certainly didn’t disappoint. Before I continue I just want to say not to be worried about the hype; I would totally ignore the hype surrounding this film and just watch it because you are interested and intrigued by it. If you go into this film expecting perfection, then you are going to feel let down. Slightly. This film perfectly highlights every reason why I adore Marvel films – it is absolutely hilarious in a sarcastic and witty kind of way. The characters are all so diverse and interesting and well-developed, with intriguing backstories and flaws and agendas. The whole universe that we see through this film has been so perfectly crafted to fit in with everything else – it follows on perfectly from the last Avengers, and the last Captain America. But you don’t need to have seen every Marvel film to enjoy it, you don’t even need to have seen any Marvel films for that matter. But if have, it makes your viewing experience even more exciting because you know everything that has happened previously to make the characters act the way that they do. I think this film did a fantastic job of introducing some new characters as well as shadowing to what future Marvel films are going to be like. Basically, as I knew it would be, it’s fabulous and I can’t stop thinking about it. And Steve Rogers. Obviously…

Political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability when the actions of the Avengers lead to collateral damage. The new status quo deeply divides members of the team. Captain America – played again by Chris Evans – believes superheroes should remain free to defend humanity without government interference. On the other hand, Iron Man – played by Robert Downey Jr. – sharply disagrees and supports oversight and restrictions, in the form of the Sokovia Accords. As the debate escalates into an all-out feud, Black Widow, Hawkeye and the rest of the Avengers (as well as some new faces) must pick a side in the emerging battle, as well as keeping their eyes on another threat that is lurking in the shadows.

The main thing that I love about Marvel is that it really is a universe. Everything fits together so seamlessly and each character has their own individual life among the universe. Every character can flip between films, go on a hiatus for several films, before popping up again and it makes perfect sense. This film showed just how large groups of characters can work just as well as small casts – and yet I didn’t feel like anyone was unnecessary or there just for the sake of it. Every character had a role and a purpose and an agenda. The main two characters that are freshly introduced in this film – Black Panther and Spiderman – have me excited for their own respective films too and I think that these characters were introduced fantastically well. I already love the awkward, nerdy character of Peter Parker, played by Tom Holland, and I am already very intrigued and attracted to the strong-willed leader T’Challa – played by Chadwick Boseman. I think this film showed really well just how the universe is expanding and getting bigger for these new characters that we’re going to see.

The plot and pacing of this film was fantastic; it was really fast-paced and engaging and there was never a point where I knew what was going to happen next. All the action sequences were phenomenal, as they usually are, and I think this film combined just the right amount of fighting and action and quieter, touching moments which we needed to show the true feelings behind the characters. Every character’s emotions and feelings were clearly shown to the audience and there was no point where you were confused about a characters standing on the whole thing. In general the whole film was very slick and sleek, including the costumes, props and special effects. I’m really liking this new batch of Marvel films which concentrate more heavily on the political side of things because it makes everything feel so much more realistic. I will say that Martin Freeman’s American accent did take me out of the film for a moment but that is wholly because I am used to him speaking in an English accent and it confused me for a second. I also thought that Pepper should have been in this film too, even if she and Tony are taking a break. Not only is she a great character, she could have maybe shown him Steve’s standing on the whole thing which might have calmed the situation down.

I also don’t know where I stand on Steve and Sharon. (Side note: Peggy dies in this film and is 95, Sharon is in her thirties right? How is Peggy Sharon’s aunt? Unless there is a massive age gap between Peggy and her younger sibling, how can this even happen?) I really like Sharon as a character but I’m just not sure where I stand on their relationship. I also loved the conversations between Bucky and Steve because their banter was super funny and I loved seeing them being best friends again.

You already know that I think this film is great and I would urge you to go and see it, even if you’re not a Marvel super fan. This film can appeal to so many different audiences and I really think the Russo brothers have made another film that they should be really proud of.

2 thoughts on “Captain America: Civil War | Movie Review

Leave a Reply

