Recommending: Featuring Real People

It’s been ages since I recommended you a bunch of TV shows that I’m loving so this time I’m going to be doing things a little differently recommending one TV show, one film and one book that features characters who really did exist.

The People v OJ Simpson: American Crime Story

You’ve probably seen me going on about how much I love this show but the main thing that I love so much is that practically all of the characters are based off real people: OJ Simpson, Marcia Clark, Johnnie Cochran – they are all real people and this makes their story even more interesting and compelling to watch. And, as far as I know, the majority of the events in this show really did happen too. I know shows are allowed to take certain liberties but it’s enough for me to know all the fascinating and amazingly strong characters are actual people and their struggles are true and real.

Joy

This is a film that I watched back in March starring Jennifer Lawrence as Joy Mangano. You really feel for her in the film because she is so strong and determined, but things never seem to go according to plan for. It was only after I watched the film I realised that Joy Mangano was a real person and this made the film all the more inspiring. I spent a good hour researching as much as I could about the real Joy Mangano because I had found her character to be so compelling. As well as balancing a chaotic home life, Joy is struggling to make ends meet and to fulfill some of her own dreams and ambitions. I really loved the film (it’s still one of the best films I’ve seen this year) and I’m so happy that it told the story of this really strong and independent woman.

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

Now this is where my list tails off a little, but I wanted to mention this book because I loved it so much. This is the second book in The Diviners series and it features real life humans John Addams, Thomas Jefferson and Alexander Hamilton. Yes, in real life I sincerely doubt they were the heads of some agency that dealt with super humans, but you never know do you? And I think it’s just perfect that I read this book when I was still riding the wave of my Hamilton obsession.

24716836

 

Leave a Reply

