Reading Wrap Up | October 2016

It’s the end of October. That’s crazy. That means it’s nearly my birthday. Yay! I hope you guys all had great October and a brilliant Halloween too. And these are all the great books I read in past month.

Macbeth by Shakespeare

This is a book that I’ve been reading for about the last 4 months with school but because we finished reading it in the month of October, I’m going to include it. It’s the first full Shakespeare play that I’ve ever read and while I can’t say that I connected to the characters I really loved reading it. It’s complex and twisted and interesting and full of different plots and sub-plots and again, studying it as a class in a educational setting definitely improved my understanding and liking of this book.

439674

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

I really love Holly Bourne as a writer and loved the first book in her The Spinster Club series Am I Normal Yet? and I decided that it had been long enough since I read one of her works so I picked up the second installment. I didn’t like it quite as much as the first book but I still really, really enjoyed it. I flew through this book in a matter of days and loved getting to know more about Amber’s character. Holly Bourne’s writing style is funny and sarcastic and engaging and I can’t wait to read the final installment in this series!

26255907

How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

I have been a massive fan of Caitlin Moran for quite a while now and in my quest to read more non-fiction books and autobiographies/memoirs I decided to pick up one of her books. And while I didn’t agree with every single thing she said, which I expected, I absolutely loved this book. I managed to fly through it in a matter of days and it was so much more informative and heart-wrenching than I expected it to be. The tone was funny and brash and completely unashamed and I really want to read more of Caitlin Moran’s books soon.

12091244

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

I’d never read any Kiersten White before reading this book and I’d heard really great things. I loved the characters in this book and was particularly pleased to see the lead being a woman of colour. I thought that the dialogue and banter between the characters was absolutely incredible – it was sarcastic and witty and I never wanted it to stop. I did think that the world building and the character development and the plot could have been developed further, an extra hundred pages might not have gone amiss, but I still found this book to be a very enjoyable and quick read.

19367070

Leave a Reply

