My Reading Wrap Up | January 2017

I can’t believe it’s already the end of January! I feels like 5 seconds ago it was Christmas! These are the books that I managed to read during the month while snacking on leftover chocolate.

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

I’m finally getting to the latter end of this series after what feels like an age but that doesn’t mean that I’m not enjoying this series, because I am. I know that a lot of people feel like the series could have stopped after 3 books but I really enjoyed seeing the characters develop even further in this book and see some of the complexities of their characters. Jace is beginning to annoy me a bit, purely because everything ALWAYS happens to him and he’s not even the chosen one of this universe – that is Clary. But after that cliffhanger, I’m excited to see where the next two books go.

11100298

The List by Siobhan Vivian

To be perfectly honest, I didn’t expect much from this book. I had absolutely no idea what it was about when I bought into and went into without any expectation. However, I ended up really loving this book and it completely blew me away. This book manages to tackle some extremely important and relevant topics that affect women in today’s society in a way that isn’t boring or overwhelming but accessible and interesting. The characters are all so complex and intriguing with their own hidden motives and backstories and this book was just completely engrossing. I did think the ending could be better as it felt a little rushed but all in all, I adored this book.

29243818

Black Heart of Jamaica by Julia Golding

I’m almost finished with my re-read of this series and going into this book, I couldn’t remember anything about the plot or what happens. This book tackles some extremely important themes from history like piracy, slavery and epidemics like malaria in a way that isn’t boring. The characters in this series are all interesting and complex and I particularly enjoyed the banter between Cat and Billy in this book. Their relationship has really developed from the start of the series and this book makes all of their changes even more abundantly clear.

32768493

The Middle Passage

I decided to give this novella a re-read because this fits in between the fifth and the sixth book and that’s where I was up to in the series. This book is a very short novella but it still continues the engaging and lively writing style that is sustained through the entirety of the series. This book was extremely funny and entertaining and while the story was short, the plot was still pretty fast-paced. I do think that some of the characters could have been expanded and developed but I know that not everything can be achieved in such a short book. This definitely isn’t required reading in the grand scheme of things but does make an entertaining addition to the series.

Image result

Leave a Reply

