The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson | Review

29415084

I’ve had this book sitting on my shelves for zonks. Literally. And it’s been sitting there un-read and un-loved and I’ve absolutely no idea why because I love Morgan Matson and have loved every single one of her previous books. All this considered, I finally managed to pick this book up and give it a read and I am so glad that I finally did. It reminded me just how much I love Morgan Matson’s books and also got me very excited for spring and summer, which was a feat in itself (funnily enough I am absolutely loving spring at the moment which is a completely new sensation for me). The characters in this book are all realistic and flawed and engaging and they all go through some crazy character development through the course of the story. This book is filled with humour and emotional moments and was a really enjoyable read. I can’t wait for the next Morgan Matson novel!

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.
Future? A top-tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.
So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.
Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

I have to say that at the beginning of this book, I was too sure whether I was going to really like it or not and that was for a couple of reasons. Andie, our main character, isn’t the best person at the beginning of the book and I was struggling to find anything to connect with her about. And secondly, the plot seemed to be very politics heavy at the very start which I didn’t immediately get engrossed with. But my worries were very quickly quashed. The politics soon take more of a back-seat and Andie soon begins to develop as a character and this was one of my favourite parts of the book. The amount of character development that happens in 500 pages is frankly terrifying and Andie in particularly changes so much into a much more likable and compelling character. As for her friends, I loved the character of Palmer and how strong-willed yet optimistic she was, I liked Bri and I didn’t really care about Toby. In fact, she annoyed me the majority of the time and I felt like she was a bit winey. I really loved the romantic sub-plot between Palmer and Tom and the cute moments that they shared together as well as Clark because who doesn’t love a cute author?

Another element of this book that I really enjoyed was the development in the relationship that Andie has with her father. These were some of the funniest and most enjoyable scenes as well as the most moving and I really enjoyed watching them grow closer as a family. I really could relate to Andie, particularly at her tendency for over-planning and trying to control the situation too much. As per usual, I found Morgan Matson’s writing to be really entertaining and quick to read. I did think however, and maybe it’s just because I’ve read so many of her books, that sometimes her description and action scenes dragged a little and some of her sentences were a little clumsy.

However, on the most part I absolutely loved this book. I was still thinking about it days after I read it and it really put me in the spring mood. I’d give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars and now I’m super excited to see what Morgan Matson comes out with next!

 

One thought on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson | Review

Leave a Reply

