Reading Wrap Up | August 2016

Here are all the books that I managed to read in the month of August – the month where I usually do the majority of my TV binge watching.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

This book has been sitting on my shelf for over two years – which is ridiculous – but I’ve finally got round to it. I adored the whole psychological aspect because it really does mess with your head as you read it and I think it would be a great book to read at Halloween. I also adored Mara because she was so sarcastic and witty. However, I didn’t really like Noah Shaw – which seems to be a pretty unpopular opinion – and I also think that his and Mara’s relationship was way to insta-lovey. However, I am obviously going to continue this series because it’s so engaging and intriguing.

13547135

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

This book featured in my most anticipated reads of the year and as it has been a while since I read anything from Marissa Meyer or from The Lunar Chronicles, I really enjoyed catching up with some of my favourite characters and learning more about their pasts. I really enjoyed all of the short stories quite a bit more than I thought I would, although there was just something about the final story, the epilogue to Winter, which I just couldn’t gel with. It just didn’t feel natural to read about and I don’t know whether that was because I haven’t been with these characters for a while but that story was slightly disappointing.

28253832

Cat Among the Pigeons by Julia Golding

This was my all time favourite series a couple of years ago and I’m determined to re-read it and see what I think of it now. I didn’t remember the second book being one of my favourites but I had seriously forgotten just how funny this book is. As well as the hilarious banter between the characters, I absolutely love the world that is created because it’s so vivid and vibrant that you can really imagine yourself in Georgian London. And there are so many threads that can link this brilliant title to the characters in the book that I just can’t say a bad word about it.

6375438

Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

This is another book series that I am slowly but surely making my way through and this was the fourth instalment in the series. Long series can sometimes begin to get a tedious after the third book or so but this series definitely keeps you on your toes because different parts of the world are being discovered and explored all the time, meaning there is always something happening. I also adore the characters in this series, especially Lissa and Christian, and this book was such an easy and quick read as well as being extremely enjoyable and very funny too.

8900186